In case of fire, Call 911
||Trinity County Wildfire Information
SRA Fire Prevention Tax and Petition For Your $35 Exemption
Click here for information on how to file a petition/protest.
Area Smoke Issues
What can you do?
Safety is not an Accident
In January 2005, a
new state law became effective that requires
that homeowners clear 30 feet and do fuel
modification to 100 feet around their buildings
to create a defensible space for firefighters
to protect their homes.
California Fire Hazard Severity Zone Maps - Proposed
|Zones Red=Very high (the highest level)
These zones affect building requirements. The majority of North Trinity Lake Area is the highest hazard area.
in the State Responsibility Area (6.4mb)
New buildings located in any Fire Hazard Severity Zone in the State
Responsibility Area must comply with the Wildland-Urban
Interface Building Codes.
Sheet: Fire Hazard Severity Zones
Sheet: Wildland Building Codes
Forests -- Management, timber revenue, hazards
California Campfire Permits are required for open fires, including campfires, barbeques,
and portable stove on federally controlled lands as well as private property of another person.
This is true in campgrounds as well as the back country. Permits are free and good for the entire
calendar year. Just get a permit and stick it in your backpack and forget about it. Get them free online
Yard burning is permitted with a Burn Permit
It is mandatory to obtain a valid burn permit for all open
outdoor burning for the purpose of disposing dried, natural
vegetation grown on site. A residential burn permit authorizes
an individual to burn a maximum of one pile (4 foot by 4
foot) of approved materials on the ground at a time. Burn
hours are 6:00AM until 12:00 noon on permissive burn days
only. Before burning: call 866-BURN-DAY (866-287-6329) for burn day status.
Burn Permits are required for all residential, non-residential
and commercial burning in Trinity County. Burn barrels are prohibited except where specifically authorized
by permit in extremely rural areas.
You are always required to have an Air Quality Management District permit, and you
may be required to also have a CalFire permit. To request an Air Quality burn permit application:
write to Burn Permit Program, AQMD, 2300 Myrtle Ave, Eureka, CA 95501. Or, go to the Weaverville
CalFire to see if burn permits have been suspended! Burning is normally restricted starting
in May, and completely suspended (ie, NO BURING ALLOWED) starting sometime in June, depending upon
how fast the forest and vegetation dry out after spring.